Moving forward

‘World can’t hold me, too much ambition.’ – Jay-Z  (On to the Next One)

I just finished my first week of full time work in the United States of America. I was training for the first few days. I’ve already started working fairly independently. I’m on the front line of the service desk, solving smaller IT problems for users. There’s a lot of incidents to solve, and it’s a good starting point. I’ve already adjusted well to working in a larger team, and in an enterprise environment. The people I work with are all super cool.

Another huge goal has been ticked off this weekend. I spent hours on Friday night researching apartments. Saturday I went to check some of them out. The first sprawling complex I went to was awesome. The others places I looked at, not so much. So I applied and put a deposit to rent a 1 bedroom apartment at the first place. We’ll see how it goes. I’m quietly confident about my chances. It’s exciting and stressful all at once.

This is the biggest disruption to my life to date. Nothing else even comes close to this level. I had nothing but a suitcase and an idea: that I could make a new life for myself. It’s all happening now, and things are moving very quickly. Everything I’ve done so far has been a series of calculated risks: putting the ball in the air. I’ve started making solid commitments on what has proven to be a successful experiment.

Leave a Reply

